Minimizing Gym Germ Risk

8 11 2011

The following article is not a scare tactic. Some folks might interpret it that way, that if I am writing about the skin diseases and fungi that crop up in gyms then it must mean I’m trying to stoke fear in people who go there. That couldn’t be further from the truth. I’ll tell you why I wrote this story for Weight Watchers Online for Men.

Very simply, it’s about awareness. I’m the type of person who lives for taking in as much information as I can. Even if some of the info I learn about isn’t of use, at least I know about it. That’s the case with staph infections or Athlete’s foot or the two other types of bacteria I talk about in this story. (At 800-plus words, I can describe only so many of them while also providing specifics.)

Maybe none of you who read this will obtain staph or any other skin disease through a gym or anywhere else. I hope that’s the case. But it pays off to know that these types of bacteria are around; to know that they’re obtainable. Which makes it valuable to understand what various bacteria look like and how to minimize the chances of having any of them enter your body.

It’s not like you’re going to walk into a gym and automatically have any of this stuff infiltrate your body. Yet you can’t assume that a gym is going to do everything in its power to keep its environment as clean as possible. It’s better to take matters into your own hands, which is really what this article is about. Awareness and responsibility for yourself.

Click on the link below to read the story.

Germ-Free at the Gym

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

