Padma Lakshmi Talks Basketball

17 10 2011

I never imagined myself interviewing Padma Lakshmi when I began writing about sports. Yet there I was, at Justin Tuck’s charity event for literacy this past June, talking with Padma about basketball. I was there for SLAM, and Padma was there to support Tuck’s R.U.S.H. for Literacy program.

There is a section towards the front of SLAM’s magazine called DimeDrop. It’s intended for celebrities to discuss basketball, which actually makes my experience interviewing Padma to be not so unique. Lots of celebrities are interviewed about sports by those of us in the industry. Of course, Padma is probably more entertaining than most.

Yeah, she’s easy on the eyes – duh. She’s also a quick thinker. I asked her about a dish she would like to see served at basketball games, and she had one for me on the spot. It probably won’t make Madison Square Garden’s refashioned concession offerings (which are numerous) but I just might present this to MSG as a last-minute addition.

Click on the link below to read the story (or read it in SLAM 152, the November 2011 issue).

Padma Lakshmi DimeDrop

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

