NCAA title game a good one; WeightWatchers.com golf article

6 04 2011

First up is my view on the title game, which I though was a much better game than most others. The contest was absolutely castigated on Twitter last night. Butler and UCONN shot abysmally, and the game was eerily reminiscent of those Knicks-Heat dogfights from the late ’90s; only this game had maybe five or six future NBA players – maybe. Basketball fans don’t like missed shots and stagnant offense, though, and last night’s game had a lot of each. Best I can tell, it was considered boring, slow-paced and offensively lackluster. I prefer to think of the game in a different way.

I love great defensive battles, which is how I viewed the game. I wrote on Twitter that while fans could criticize last night’s game, they wouldn’t call a high-powered offensive game a bad contest, even if the defenses were technically playing like crap. So why is it that a game is considered to be a dud when defenses are dominating the offenses?

What makes this more confusing to me is that sports fans, above all else, value effort and tireless play from athletes. Fans go crazy if they sense an athlete isn’t trying hard. Last night’s championship game was one of the hardest-played basketball games I’ve ever watched. The players were killing themselves, especially on the defensive end. How many open looks did either offense get, specifically in the first half?

There were only ten turnovers and three missed free throws in the first half. Nearly every shot seemed to be contested. The play got messier in the second half when Butler missed four or five too many chippies and UCONN used their athleticism to make Butler look slow and ragged. Yet what mattered most to me was that both teams were leaving it all on the floor. The execution might not have been there, but the teams were playing as if was the last game they’d ever play. To me, that matters a hell of a lot more than the ball snapping the net when determining whether or not it was a good game.

*****

All right, I wrote an article for WeightWatchers.com about how to improve a golf swing. I used to play at least four times per week in high school in Seeley Lake, Mont. I played quite often, at least a couple times per week, during college in Bozeman, Mont. Now that I live in New York City, I get to play just about only when I go home to Montana for a couple weeks every July.

I am determined to play at least a few rounds at various courses in the NYC metropolitan area, but it’s not an easy task. Traveling takes time; it’s inconvenient as hell to travel on the subway with a golf bag. But if I need to remember how to swing a club, I trust that this story will help me.

Click on the link below to read the story:

Improving Your Golf Swing

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

