Quotes of the Week XVI

20 09 2010

Eli Manning in reaction to whether he knows anything about the quarterback of the team his Giants faced Sunday — the Colts’ Peyton Manning:
“Is that a question? Yeah, I know him. He’s my brother.”

Pat Riley on Stan Van Gundy’s criticism of Chris Bosh from earlier this off-season:
“I was bemused by that because I don’t know what happened to Stan. Stan was like me, he hated the media. Now he has a show with you once a week.”

Riley on critics saying LeBron won’t live up to Michael Jordan-like expectations:
“I won’t say it, because do you have a 10-second beep thing here? It’s BS.”

Stan Van Gundy responding to Riley’s comments:
“I was with Pat in Miami when we had all of those Knicks series, and he had no problem making moral judgements on my brother. What I read into that was that I guess Pat is the only one allowed to make those moral judgements and the rest of us can’t do it. I guess we didn’t realize that Pat’s the only one allowed to do that.”

Washington Redskins running back Clinton Portis breaking down the Inez Sainz-New York Jets controversy:
“You give [a woman] a choice of 53 athletes, somebody got to be appealing to her…if you get to go and look at 53 men’s packages.”

New England Patriots running back Laurence Maroney on how he was going to change his style of running:

“I’m not trying to be on, what’s that dance show they’ve got on TV? ‘Dancing With The Stars’? I’m physical. Downhill.”

Dallas Cowboys Hall of Fame quarterback Roger Staubach on the style of today’s football:
“It’s kind of a wussy game.”

Jerry Rice on when Steve Young used to scramble instead of look to pass downfield:
“That used to piss me off.”

Reggie Bush actually making a lot of sense in regards to colleges making money of their athletes:
“You’re making all this money off these kids and you’re giving them crumbs and then you’re surrounding these kids with money and telling them not to touch it.”

Former L.A. Dodgers owner Peter O’Malley on the team’s current owner, Frank McCourt, who’s engaged in a public trial with his ex-wife to determine who owns the team:

“The current Dodger ownership has lost all credibility throughout the city.”

Denver Nuggets head coach George Karl on when he got fired from the Cleveland Cavaliers years ago. Marty Schottenheimer was head coach of the Cleveland Browns at the time:
“My biggest memory of Marty was when I got fired in Cleveland, him coming to my door with a case of Coors Light saying, ‘I guess we got to hang out today.'”

Buffalo Bills fan after a popular tailgater who dispensed shots from a bowling ball and cooked meat on the hood of his car was asked by the NFL to leave for a different tailgating area around the stadium:
“Now I have to pay $30 to $60 to park in a lot just to hear the equivalent of your parents slap me on the hand and yell at me for drinking?”

Minnesota Timberwolves power forward Michael Beasley. The T’Wolves went 15-67 last season to finish with the second-worst record in the NBA:

“I know a lot of people are not going to like the fact that I’m going to say this but I think we are the team to beat.”

San Francisco 49ers head coach Mike Singletary on a Yahoo! Sports article that used to anonymous sources to highlight communication problems among the 49ers coaching staff. Singletary said he won’t try to find out who said what in the article:
“The article is not factual, number one. Number two is I don’t want to spend my time trying to find the rat. In time, the smell will come.”

49ers offensive coordinator Jimmy Raye on what he thought of the Yahoo! Sports story:
“Who’s Yahoo? I don’t know him.”

Singletary to a San Francisco TV reporter when asked if Raye had the communications issues that Yahoo! reported he did:
“Don’t base a man’s career on a dad-gum Yahoo article.”

Derek Jeter defending his selling a hit-by-pitch against the Rays:
“This is not the first time this has happened, guys. And by the way, we lost the game. Must have been a slow news day.”

University of Washington football head coach — and former Southern Cal coach — Steve Sarkisian on Reggie Bush’s refusal to admit he accepted improper benefits while playing for Southern Cal:
“He had a chance to apologize, look like the good guy. But in giving it back and not apologizing, he just looks like an idiot again.”

Atlanta Braves third baseman Chipper Jones on one reason why he won’t retire after this season:

“You have a shelf life where you can make absurd amounts of money playing this game. I will take advantage of that shelf life for as long as I can.”

Rex Ryan on his reaction to being told Darrelle Revis’ hamstring injury:
“I think I was in tears when they told me he pulled a hamstring.”

Tom Brady recapping the Patriots’ 28-14 loss against the Jets on Sunday:
“We couldn’t do anything in the second half. We had a hard time gaining yards. We didn’t do anything on third down, we couldn’t gain anything on first or second down. We couldn’t run it. We couldn’t throw it. We just sucked.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

