Rucker Park on a Saturday afternoon

16 08 2010

I had never been to the famous Rucker Park before Saturday. Living here for over three years, there are still a few things I haven’t done and they’re pretty much all located in other boroughs. Never been to Prospect Park or the Brooklyn Botanical Garden. That’s unacceptable given that I’m a Landscape Design major. Terrible. I will visit both in September.

But Rucker Park is a goldmine for any hoops head and the legendary park where Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Wilt Chamberlain, Julius Erving and a host of other basketball players honed their games on 155th St. in Harlem is a must-see. I thought there’d never be a better time for that than with the World Basketball Festival in town. SLAM sent me there to speak with a player on the French national team, so I hit the park at 12:30 this past Saturday, just before the Frenchmen scrimmaged against each other. Here’s what I saw:

Wait for the closeup of his kicks...

All I could think of is "Where is Tony Parker?"

France bringing it strong to the house.

Here they are! I know we don't always love the French but you got to give it up for these kicks. Worn by a shorter French version of Marquis Daniels judging from his hair.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

