Quotes of the Week…IT’S BACK!

16 08 2010

YES! I couldn’t stay away from it; it’s been awhile since I posted a Quotes of the Week. Without further ado, the most phenomenal quotes I could find from the last week.

Cincinnati Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips, this past Monday, about his feelings of the St. Louis Cardinals:
“I hate the Cardinals. All they do is bitch and moan about everything, all of them…I really hate the Cardinals. Compared to the Cardinals, I love the Chicago Cubs. Let me make this clear: I hate the Cardinals.”

Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina on how a Reds-Cardinals brawl started Tuesday:
“I was ready to start the game, and [Phillips] touched me. The comments that he made yesterday, that he’s got no friends over here, why are you touching me then? You are not my friend. So don’t touch me.”

Reds pitcher Johnny Cueto on his intentions during a Reds-Cardinals brawl Tuesday:
“I was trying to go in and trying to break people off.”

Oakland Raiders owner Al Davis making sure not to put pressure on his new quarterback, Jason Campbell:
“I really predict great things for him. I hope he doesn’t let me down.”

San Antonio Spurs forward Richard Jefferson on advice bestowed to him from Tim Duncan upon his arrival in San Antonio last summer:
“Don’t suck.” Tim Duncan is a master motivational speaker.

New York Jets head coach Rex Ryan on one episode of Hard Knocks:
On Darrelle Revis: “He’s pretty fucking good.”
More: “It’s about leading the league in fucking wins.”
“If we play at our best, we will beat every team in this fucking league playing at their best.”
“Last year, hey, we were under the radar, that’s a good place to be. Fuck that!”
“We know we’re better than you. We don’t give a fuck if you know it or not.”
“We’re gonna beat the fuck out of you.” $100 says if the Jets win the Super Bowl, Ryan will look into the cameras and yell “We’re going to fucking Disneyland!”
Seattle Seahawks wide receiver T.J. Houshmandzadeh on adjusting to life with the Seahawks:
“I came from a team with Chad [Ochocinco] and Chris Henry, where I was the go-to guy. People on the outside might think it was Chad, but those who were there know better — it was me.”

New York Giants linebacker Keith Bulluck on where the Giants and Jets play:
“It’s always been Giants Stadium, the Jets were always second fiddle to the Giants.”

More Bulluck:
“I’m a Mets fan and I understand the Yankees are New York’s baseball team, just like Jets fans should understand the Giants are New York’s football team.”

C.M Newton, a former USA Basketball Committee member, explaining why Charles Barkley was cut from the Bob Knight-coached 1984 Olympic men’s basketball team:
“Charles could’ve been on that team, but he wanted to go back to Leeds [Ala.] and eat fried chicken or whatever they do back there.”

Barkley in response:
“What you really wanted to say, C.M., was that Bobby Knight was a prick.”

Kobe Bryant on how to win in basketball:
“Defense and rebounding. No matter where you go, defense and rebounding wins. I don’t care if you’re playing aliens from Mars. If you’re defending and rebounding, you win.”

Phil Mickelson on how long his adoption of a vegetarian diet will last:
“The real test is driving by a Five Guys and not stopping.” Amen.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

