Quotes of the Week VIII

12 03 2010

Chad Ochocinco on whether he always jogs naked [he was caught in a video posted to YouTube jogging in the nude through the woods outside his home]:
“Yeah, why wouldn’t I? What’s wrong with that? I take a shower naked.”

Cowboys tight end Martellus Bennett, who recorded 15 receptions in his second season last year:
“I think I can be one of the all-time greats.”

Text message sent from Floyd Mayweather to a man named Quincey Williams, who texted Mayweather that he wished him bad luck in an upcoming fight:
“Do you know who I am? I could have you trumped!”

Steve Nash on rehabbing his beaten-up body with five days off between games:
“Unfortunately, I don’t get to put my feet up and have a pina colada.”

Dwight Howard on teammate Matt Barnes’ physical style of play:
“That’s what he does, he brings physicality to the game. Physicality. Matt and physical go together … Matt-sysical.”

Lamar Odom on why he called Barnes a “monkey” after the Lakers-Magic game March 7:
“Matt Barnes is a cool dude. If I call him a monkey, I don’t mean it.”

Odom on his comparison of Barnes to an action figure:
“Ric Flair does the same thing. He had his wrestling gear on today. All he needed was, like, a cape and tights.”

Barnes’ Twitter response to Odom:
“Morning yall up early w/ the babies watchn Dora. Seems Lamar can’t keep my name out his mouth maby I need 2 put my sons shitty diaper n it”

Derek Anderson after being released by the Browns:
“The fans are ruthless and don’t deserve a winner. I will never forget getting cheered when I was injured. I know at times I wasn’t great. I hope and pray I’m playing when my team comes to town and (we) roll them.”

Jazz coach and ex-Bulls player Jerry Sloan on the significance, or lack thereof, of a photo of him hanging outside the Bulls locker room:
“It’s like my friend always said, ‘I’m going to be eating hamburgers anyway.'” I don’t know what that means either.

Seahawks wide receiver T.J. Houshmandzadeh to Erik Kuselias on ESPN Radio:
“Last year, fantasy [football] or no fantasy, I sucked.”

Angels outfielder Torii Hunter on race in baseball:
“As African-American players, we have a theory that baseball can go get an imitator and pass them off as us. It’s like they had to get some kind of dark faces, so they go to the Dominican or Venezuela because you can get them cheaper. It’s like, ‘Why should I get this kid from the South Side of Chicago and have Scott Boras represent him and pay him $5 million when you can get a Dominican guy for a bag of chips?” Apparently Hunter didn’t notice that Aroldis Chapman, a Cuban, signed a $30 million deal with the Reds based off a handful of pitching sessions. Or that Michael Inoa, a Dominican, received a $4.25 million bonus from the Athletics as a 16-year-old in 2008.

Mike Leach during a motivational speech to Texas Tech last season:
“What’s God say? If you’re lukewarm, I’ll spew you out?”

Bill Maher on his HBO show:
“The only thing that’s inevitable is that if you have fake boobs and hair extensions, Tiger Woods will try to fuck you.”

Dan Orlovsky’s note on an autographed photo of the famous play in which he ran out of the back of the end zone during a 2008 Lions-Vikings game:
“I’m just an idiot.”

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 03 2010
Page Seven

You gotta love Orlovsky for being a good sport about that – I mean signing a picture of him doing that? Dude is okay in my book. As long as he’s not playing for the Steelers.

15 03 2010
MetsMaize

get hbo already and stop watching overtime

16 03 2010
kylestackblog

Oh, thanks for reminding me. I have to watch Overtime from last week.

Leave a Reply

