Quotes of the Week VII

5 03 2010

Boxing promoter Bob Arum on a Manny Pacquiao-Floyd Mayweather fight:
“Mayweather against Manny is a no-contest, no contest. Manny would wipe the ring with Floyd Mayweather.”

Trash talk session between Michael Jordan and Bobcats forward Gerald Henderson after Jordan, who will take over the Bobcats as the primary owner, challenged Henderson to a H-O-R-S-E contest…

Jordan, after making a 3: “What do you think, I just dunked my whole career?”
Jordan, after Henderson said the red-hot Jordan would eventually miss a shot: “That’s what Cleveland said.”
Henderson after finally beating Jordan in the two rounds they played: “Maybe he’s going to get back in the gym and get off the golf course.”
Let’s just say that if I had the choice between sleeping with Jessica Alba or playing a round of H-O-R-S-E with Jordan — with the assurance that he would talk a copious amount of trash — I would at least sit down and consider my options.

Retired French soccer star Zinedine Zidane when asked if he regretted the headbutt he gave Italian Marco Materazzi in the 2006 World Cup final that resulted in Zidane’s ejection — the final match of his career:
“Never, never. It would be to dishonor me…I’d rather die. If I ask forgiveness of him [Materazzi], I lack respect for myself and for all those I love with all my heart.” Well, then.

Bob Costas during the Vancouver Games’ closing ceremony:
“And here is the always-enjoyable Giant Inflatable Beaver.”

Tracy McGrady text to LeBron James:
“I’m in the Big Apple. I’ll see you here next season.”
LeBron’s response:
“LOL.”
McGrady later explaining what LeBron should to do show appreciation for being tailor-made to play basketball for a living:
“He ought to be on his knees every night thanking the Lord.” Great recruiting job by T-Mac.

Lakers coach Phil Jackson describing a suit Nuggets coach George Karl was wearing when they were both CBA coaches and Jackson was watching a Karl-coached game in the CBA Finals:
“He was wearing a powder blue tux with a white ruffled shirt. Something I really think is crazy.”

Travis Outlaw’s reaction upon being traded from the Trail Blazers to the Clippers:
“I was like, ‘Uh-oh, I don’t know.'”

Michael Vick explaining on a Virginia radio show one of the reasons he wants to play for the Carolina Panthers:
“I like their uniforms.”

Hall of Fame pitcher Sandy Koufax on the ‘quality start’ statistic which is defined by a pitcher going at least six innings with three or fewer earned runs:

“A quality start is shaking hands with your catcher.”

Red Sox third baseman Adrian Beltre on the aftereffects of a ground ball he took to his undercarriage while playing a game for the Mariners last season:
“When I look down, after the game, it wasn’t a pretty sight. My testicle got the size of a grapefruit.”

Dustin Pedroia’s reaction to Beltre’s insistence of not wearing a cup:
“If you don’t wear a cup, it’s going to do some damage and it makes you talk funny for a while.’’

Mariners outfielder/notorious troublemaker Milton Bradley, on his eighth team in 10 seasons, on whose fault it is for all his past trials and tribulations:
“Any time I’ve had a problem anywhere, it’s because I’ve been disrespected.”

More Milton Bradley because he’s just so much damn fun:

“Two years ago [in Texas], I played, and I was good. I go to Chicago, not good. I’ve been good my whole career. So, obviously, it was something with Chicago, not me.”

Brett Favre on Jay Leno’s Tonight Show:
“I’ve told people I really believe my biggest accomplishment this year was winning over the majority of the Vikings’ fans. For so many years I was hated.” You still are, Brett, you still are.

Floyd Mayweather on why he agreed to fight Sugar Shane Mosley, planned for May 1 in Las Vegas:

“The fans. Without the fans, Floyd Mayweather wouldn’t be where he’s at today.”

Floyd Mayweather yapping about Mosley:
“He doesn’t talk trash…I think Bernard Hopkins [Mosley’s business partner] put a battery pack in his back and pumped him up to say those things.”

More Mayweather:
“I gave the sport of boxing my whole life to be the best and I feel I’ve earned the right to say that I’m the best fighter to ever live.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

