Quotes of the Week II

29 01 2010

Another Friday morning with the best quotes I could find in the sports universe during the past week.

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson in a speech to his players:
“If anyone steps out of my control, they’re dead. The most important person in Manchester United is the manager.”

Kevin Garnett on his left knee injury that shelved him for over a month:
“The old ’76 Pinto got banged up a little bit.”

Top high school basketball recruit Quincy Miller in a Tweet about North Carolina’s struggling basketball team:
“Is UNC really that sorry or is my mind playing tricks on me? Hahaha.” You won’t believe this but Miller hasn’t been offered a scholarship from UNC.

Suns head coach Alvin Gentry on an ESPN-reported rumor that Amar’e Stoudemire has created tension in the Suns locker room because of trade rumors:
“It’s the biggest crock of shit I’ve ever heard.”

Warriors head coach Don Nelson on how the team will handle losing a slew of close games recently:
“We’re grown-ups. We don’t need lollipops.”

Phil Jackson on Andrew Bynum sleeping in and missing the Lakers’ flight from New York to Toronto:
“It’s a rookie mistake, as we call it, even though he’s not a rookie.”

Ex-Saints quarterback Archie Manning on whether he’ll root for the Colts — his son’s team — or the Saints during the Super Bowl:

“I’m pulling for the Colts 100 percent, it’s not even close.”

Ron Artest on his excitement level at getting to meet President Obama during the Lakers’ trip to the White House Jan. 25:

“I’m not that excited to meet him because I look at him as a regular person”

LeBron James’ response to head coach Mike Brown’s call for a double-team on Dwyane Wade on the last possession of the Cavs’ win over the Heat Jan. 25:
“I got D-Wade.” A fired up LeBron James is better than an angry Kobe Bryant. Hate to admit it but it’s true.

Phillies manager Charlie Manuel on what he’d do if the Phils had kept Cliff Lee to go with Roy Halladay and Cole Hamels in the starting rotation:
“I might even be buying more expensive furniture than the Mrs. has been buying me lately.”

Patriots defensive tackle Vince Wilfork on his dissatisfaction if the Patriots re-sign him for one year with the franchise tag instead of giving him a multi-year deal. The franchise tag for a defensive tackle in 2009 was worth $6.058 million for one year:
“[The franchise tag] is decent money for most people out there.”

Nets center Brook Lopez after the Nets beat the Clippers 103-87 Jan. 27 for their fourth win:
“Did we need this? Are you kidding me? I mean we were 3-40.”

Patriots cornerback Shawn Springs when asked as a guest on ESPN2’s First Take which of the two Super Bowl teams he would rather not face:
“Well if it was me, I would hope a hurricane comes through.” One of the two Super Bowl teams plays in New Orleans, which was obviously ravaged by Hurricane Katrina in August 2005. Nice work, Shawn.

New Orleans mayor Ray Nagin discussing his efforts to secure Super Bowl tickets from the Saints:
“Some people seem to forget I come from the business environment. So I got contacts at ESPN, USAToday, you name it. So I’m going to work it out.”

League executive to Pro Football Weekly on the recent fat contracts Raiders owner Al Davis has handed out to players:

“And he keeps throwing boatloads of money at players who cannot handle the trappings of success — [JaMarcus] Russell, Javon Walker, Terdell Sands, Tommy Kelly, DeAngelo Hall. It’s a who’s who of turds.”

Spurs head coach Greg Popovich responding to a question about a Yahoo! Sports report that the Spurs are interested in acquiring Amar’e Stoudemire:
“What the heck is Yahoo? Is it one of those computer things? Is that like Twittering?”

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 01 2010
Page Seven

A fired up LeBron James is better than an angry Kobe Bryant. Hate to admit it but it’s true.

WHAT??? Did Kyle Stack just admit BronBron is better than Kobe (at least during this specified moment)???? Who wrote this post? What did you do with my friend Kyle???

I agree – I love seeing LeBron pissed off.

29 01 2010
kylestackblog

I know, dude, I hope this is the one day that Kobe doesn’t read my blog. But I think it has more to do with Bron’s progress than Kobe’s regression. I mean, Kobe has definitely lost quickness and leaping ability. I guess the counter point is that he’s a hell of a lot wiser, definitely moreso than Bron. But Bron is just a freak physically and he’s really fucking smart.

30 01 2010
MetsMaize

love the brook lopez quote… so true

also, assante samuel has been chiming in on woolfok’s status. dude’s a nasty NT and he deserves to get paid, but knowing the pats, they’ll let him go.

Leave a Reply

