The Stadium and The Greatest

11 08 2009

We all like to live experiences that allow us shorten the list of things we want to do in our lives. As a sports fan, I’m always looking for new games/events to witness in person. I’ve missed out on a couple fantastic sports experiences — Kobe scoring 61 at the Garden and the U.S. Open — this year. 

Yet I was presented with the chance last week to visit the Stadium for the opening contest of the four-game series between the Yankees and Red Sox. Would I dare miss a chance to watch the opening game of a series pitting two storied rivals against each other in the heat of a pennant race? No. Would I unknowingly pounce on an additional sports experience by buying the Yanks ticket? Oh, you bet. To the picures. Comments from fans during the game run after the pictures.

Before the pictures, some clarification is needed. I didn’t go up to people, and I regret it. It probably tarnishes this story, and I will try to make it up by going to a Mets game in September when all the Mets fans are too depressed to know I’m taking photos of them. I also didn’t take pictures once the game began since I didn’t want to be “that guy.” And it’s not real fun trying to snap photos while scrunched into ballpark seats.

 

If there's any team that boasts enough great players in its history to justify all these banners, it's the Yankees. I'd put the Lakers, Celtics, Steelers and Giants on that list, too. Any others you can think of?
If there’s any team that boasts enough great players in its history to justify all these banners, it’s the Yankees. I’d put the Lakers, Celtics, Steelers and Giants on that list, too. Any others you can think of?

 

 

Ahhh yes, green grass. Notice the gargantuan scoreboard. Also note the commercial message on the 'board, which can also be used to describe Yanks tickets given their ridiculous prices.
Ahhh yes, green grass. Notice the gargantuan scoreboard. Also note the commercial message on the ‘board, which can also be used to describe Yanks tickets given their ridiculous prices.

 

 

Yes, this unnamed player made this catch. Yes, this sign makes zero sense. Are there really enough Chinese-speaking folks in NYC to make this ad worthwhile? Or do the Yanks buy these things for the 3 billion people around the world who watch their games on YES?
Yes, this unnamed player made this catch. Yes, this sign makes zero sense. Are there really enough Chinese-speaking folks in NYC to make this ad worthwhile? Or do the Yanks buy these things for the 3 billion people around the world who watch their games on YES?

 

 

I went straight to the beer. For you non-New Yorkers, $6 is standard fare for brewskies in Manhattan. There's a Johnny Rockets next to this stand, but I wasn't down with the ballpark food that night. I had a $10 chicken finger and fries the first time I went to the stadium, but I really wasn't into dipping any more cash than the ticket's price.
I went straight to the beer. For you non-New Yorkers, $6 is standard fare for brewskies in Manhattan. There’s a Johnny Rockets next to this stand, but I wasn’t down with the ballpark food that night. I had a $10 chicken finger and fries the first time I went to the stadium, but I really wasn’t into dipping any more cash than the ticket’s price.

 

 

Dude in the L.A. hat is cool. Basically, this is showing the calm before the storm. All these people are getting primed to kill, torture and maim any Red Sox fan dumb enough to walk into their lair.
Dude in the L.A. hat is cool. Basically, this is showing the calm before the storm. All these people are getting primed to kill, torture and maim any Red Sox fan dumb enough to walk into their lair.

 

 

I don't know what it is about ground crews but I love watching them clear the field after batting practice.

I don't know what it is about ground crews but I love watching them clear the field after batting practice.

 

 

Could it be?

Could it be?

 

 

It is! The Greatest! He was at the park for some ceremony which I don't care about. But to see Muhammad Ali in person is another experience to cross off the list with the name that annoys me.

It is! The Greatest! He was at the park for some ceremony which I don't care about. But to see Muhammad Ali in person is another experience to cross off the list with the name that annoys me.

 

 

 

And now the list of quotes to show the intelligence that persists at your regular Yankees-Red Sox game:

(Yes, these are real quotes that I wrote furiously into my Fat Book)

Pregame

-One man to another who was looking for a seat: “My casa mi casa.” I know Spanish about as well as I know Organic Chemistry, but I’m pretty sure that sentence doesn’t translate.

-Yanks fan who spotted an unfortunate fool wearing one of those Pedroia t-shirt jersey things: “Hey Pedroia, you suck!”  — “Pedroia, is that your boyfriend on the left!”  — “Pedroia, you better go find your seats! It’s gonna be a long night!” (voice cracks like a 13-year-old at the long night part)

1st Inning

-Yanks fan to Boston fan daring to cheer for Kevin Youkilis striding to the plate: “What are ya, taking steroids or something? Shut up!”

-Same Yanks fan to Hot Red Sox Girl sitting behind me: “You better get outta here!”

2nd Inning

-Same Yanks fan (this is a theme, believe me) to Hot Red Sox Girl and her annoying boyfriend after Melky Cabrera held J.D. Drew at second base after throwing to third after catching a Casey Kotchman fly: “What’d I tell you about that shit!? I feel bad for your parents! They didn’t want you to grow up being losers!”

3rd Inning

SAME Yanks fan to Hot Red Sox Girl after Pedroia homered. They got into a scoreboard debate and this popped out for some reason from the Yanks fan: “I’ll teach you how to count! Sesame Street!”

5th Inning

Red Sox fan to SAME Yanks fan after the guy, who was fat and wearing a sleeveless shirt (of course), wouldn’t stop taunting any Red Sox fan within 200 feet since the game’s opening pitch: “Leave us alone!”

I have to say that it was a fairly mellow experience, aside from seeing the two Yanks fans get tossed for undisclosed reasons in the 5th inning. I didn’t hear the first “Boston sucks” chant until the 4th frame. Only when Papi came to the plate for each at-bat and the crowded began its “Steroids! Steroids!” routine did I feel things could get heated. 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

